A Birthday in the Sky

1 Feb

After much deliberation, I think the Round-Number Birthday trip destination has been decided! I’m 97% sure that This April I’ll be in Ireland!!!!

But even more exciting is that we may actually book booked our flights so that we leave the day before my birthday, and when the day hits I’ll actually be somewhere over the Atlantic! I’m very excited about this because depending on how I feel that day, my Birthday can go one of two ways. 1. If I’m ready to embrace my next decade, I may get a very warm Aer Lingus welcome. And, 2. If I decide I’d rather be in denial of the next phase of my life, I can always claim that since I didn’t turn that age on land, it doesn’t count!

Now that the destination has been decided, here’s the To-Do list of next steps.

  1. Request vacation time.
  2. Book flights.
  3. Hire a car. (That’s Irish-speak for rent a car.)
  4. Plot tentative route on map.
  5. Research hotels/hostels/B&Bs at each destination. – (in progress)
  6. Book hotels/hostels/B&Bs.
  7. Plan stops/sightseeing/excursions.

There’s also one other minor detail that we’ll need to work out. Leaving the day before my birthday means we’ll be in Ireland for Easter. And more importantly for Good Friday.

Did you know that according to Irish law, alcohol cannot be sold on Good Friday (or Christmas)?

So, in our planning/mapping, I’ll need to pay close attention to what will be closed during our time there so we don’t end up stranded.

Anyway, stay tuned for my potential Birthday in the Sky.

Leave a comment